My Thoughts on Over-The-Top Proposals

By now everybody knows about that over-the-top wedding proposal that has been flying around the internet with the guy who made a movie preview and played it at the movie theater to propose to his girlfriend.  Yes, I think its cute and creative and oh my gosh what a lucky girl and all of that.  With that being said, not everybody gets that type of marriage proposal.  Let’s face it, not every guy in the world is outgoing like that individual and not every girl out there is so high maintenance that they even need that type of proposal (or even want one).  Not everybody has the time or money to make a feature presentation or fly their girlfriend to France to be proposed to under the Eiffel Tower (in that case, maybe they just don’t want to be cliche) and not everybody has the guts to sky dive with an engagement ring in their pocket.

All of you down to earth, get real chicks like me out there know what I’m talking about.  Yeah, great stuff to fantasize about, but not practical.  And, guys, if the girl is really in love with you, she’s going to say yes whether you fly her to France or you drive her to Sizzler to propose.  I was proposed to in the first restaurant that my husband and I went to on our first date…sentimental enough! I didn’t even get the whole get down on one knee act and I’m glad that I didn’t.  If we are both equals then why would I have wanted him to get down on one knee to ask me to spend the rest of my life with him?

Advice to any dudes out there who may be reading this, if you WANT to give your girlfriend an over-the-top proposal, more power to you.  If you feel you HAVE to do it to make your girlfriend say yes, you’ve got a whole life of pleasing to do.  Who’s to say that proposing on Christmas next to the tree while your girl unwraps her ring is any less special than proposing on New Years Eve live on television when the ball drops?

My point is that, yes, it is always nice to see a man go really out of his way to make the moment extra special.  But does everybody need this?  No.  The fact is that most men just aren’t that willing to go that out of their way and it’s really hard for them to talk about or express their true feelings.  Ladies,  you are just going to have take that with a grain of salt, wash it down with some lemonade and call it a night.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “My Thoughts on Over-The-Top Proposals

  1. I saw that movie proposal recently so I know exactly what you are talking about…it was probably posted everyhere! I definitely feel for guys who: (a) have girlfiends who want (expect) over the top proposals (probably after seeing propsals like that on the TV and internet and, (b) don’t have the creatiity / imagination / guts / money etc., to pull off a proposal like that. I think that a guy proposing in general, is the sweetest thing ever, regardless of how it’s done. It’s the thought that counts!

    Great post!

  2. Somebody essentially help to make severely articles I’d state. That is the first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I amazed with the analysis you made to make this particular put up incredible. Excellent process!

  3. I was just looking for this information for a while. After 6 hours of continuous Googleing, at last I got it in your website. I wonder what’s the lack of Google strategy that don’t rank this type of informative websites in top of the list. Normally the top sites are full of garbage.

Leave a Reply

