Where Have All The Cowgirls Gone?

Random post, I’m going to talk about something that’s really been bothering me a lot lately.  I am a lover of music, I grew up in the 90’s and I want my empowering woman music back!  Not only just my empowering woman music, but I want music that means something back in general.

Maybe it’s  just me getting old (and I hate to think like that) but popular music today just doesn’t seem to really stand for anything.  I don’t like hearing Kesha, or however she spells it, singing using auto tune (and claims she doesn’t!) about how she likes to party and get trashed.  I miss my No Doubt, Garbage, Jewel, Paul Cole, Sarah McLachlan, Cranberries and all of the rest of them.  And, yes, I even miss the Spice Girls!  I know a lot of them are still doing their music thing, but what I’m hearing on the radio just isn’t the same.  I even miss all of the late 90’s/early 2000 metal bands.  All of the metal bands that I hear on the radio now sound like a bunch of screaming to me and I’m lucky to make out anything they are saying.  It’s almost as if they are losing their voices.

This is no joking matter.  As a pre-teen and teenager, there was a lot of music that inspired me to be the woman that I am today and now the music that girls listen to seem to be giving girls the wrong message.  What is empowering about sending a message to girls that says “it’s okay to be slutty, everybody does it!”?  What kind of message about love is this sending out to girls and what kind of women are these girls going to turn out to be?  I know a lot of people who grew up in the same generation as I did have also gotten married.  This also explains the trend in wedding blogs like this one that are floating around.  Most of these blogs are written by women who are around my age.  I’m not saying marriage is for everybody or that everybody should run out and get married, but it is certainly some sort of reflection of what inspired them and how they were bought up.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have a problem with curse words in music.  I understand music is supposed to be creative and I understand that teenagers, most of them anyway, do have a sense of right from wrong.  At the same time, whether they know it or not, they are in some way, shape or form being influenced by what they listen to.   Yes, above all, the parents have to be the strongest influence, but you can’t stop teenagers from loving music.  It just saddens me that this is all that the music industry has to offer teenagers nowadays.  Is this seriously all that the future generation is worth?

I can also see, on a positive note, perhaps this is why I see a lot of teenagers who prefer to listen to older music; because they refuse listen to all of the junk that is being played on the radio today.  I can only hope that the music industry will eventually make a turn for the better in the near future.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Rant

Leave a Reply

