Thursday…Honeymoon Day

This Thursday I am featuring a great little honeymoon getaway that is only a train ride away for New York City couples.  I’m talking about Montauk, NY aka “The End”.  This little area is part of the Hamptons but not as pricey as the Hamptons that you know and have heard about.  Although more and more people are catching on, this destination still has it’s secret charm.  There are a lot of state parks, beaches and vineyards to visit, great little diners to eat breakfast, nice charter boats to go out fishing and a great opportunity to have some fresh fish if you are a seafood fanatic.

In this picture we have the Montauk Point Lighthouse, which was built in 1791.  This lighthouse is definitely worth a visit.  What’s more romantic than pictures of a lighthouse?  Being at a lighthouse with the love of your life.  There is a museum that offers tours and a gift shop here in case you are one of those couples that likes to take part of touristy adventures.

If you’ve ever seen the movie Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (one of my favorite movies) starring Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet, Montauk Point is where they met in the movie and found each other again.  Although I would not recommend going there in the winter like they did in the movie, it is very beautiful in the summer and late spring.

I picked Montauk this week because my father used to take us there for little family vacations early on in life.  When my sister and I became teenagers he used to take us out fishing there with his buddy, Gene.  Gene now owns a seafood establishment there where supposedly you can bring him your catch and he will cook it up for you.  He also has fresh fish and all that other sort of good stuff.  The name of his place is Coleman’s Seafood.  I unfortunately have never been there yet, but I have heard good things.

As far as hotels go, there are luxury ones and not so luxury ones.  One place that caught my eye was the Ocean Surf Resort.  It looks cute and it’s right on the beach.

Photos of Ocean Surf Resort, Montauk
This photo of Ocean Surf Resort is courtesy of TripAdvisor

I would like to dedicate this post to my dad who is responsible for my love of the beach and water.  Some of my best memories as a child and teenage come from our little excursions to Montauk.  Thanks to him, as a child and adult, I never want to get out of the water.

Leave a comment

Filed under Honeymoons, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

