Real Brides Don’t Shed…

While I was planning my wedding and looking at dresses etcetera, I just have to say that the amount of ads that I saw for losing weight for your wedding were sickening. Why in the world would I want to lose weight for my wedding?  If I decide to get in shape it’s going to be for me and not for some wedding.  I am sick and tired of seeing blogs featuring your stereotypical thin bride.  Who says you can’t be a plus sized bride and still look beautiful?  Steve loves me the way that I am, so I didn’t really feel the need to change myself for the wedding.  I am hoping that other future brides read this and realize that they were proposed to because their future husband is head over heels in love with them and that there is no reason to feel inadequate.  Getting in shape is good…if you are doing it for yourself and not for a wedding.

Another thing that really irked me was the amount of strapless dresses that I saw available.  It seems that a good 80 percent were strapless and about 20 percent had either straps or sleeves.  I was very happy when I saw footage of the royal wedding and saw Kate Middleton’s dress.  Perhaps now there will be less strapless dresses and more bride like dresses out there.  Maybe a strapless dress is great if you are a size 0 -4 and have absolutely no arm fat, but no thanks, strapless was not for me.  Another thing I would like to point out about a lot of what I see on wedding blogs is brides buying a dress from Kleinfeld’s that probably cost way over $1,000.  Think of it realistically, you are going to be wearing the dress for one day.  Why would you want to spend over $1,000 on a dress that you are going to wear for one day? You can look just as beautiful in a dress from David’s Bridal.  Think about it, all wedding dresses are white, do you really think that your guests are going to notice or even think about where you got your dress and do you really think it would really matter to them?  On top of that, on the one day, your white dress IS going to get dirty and you are never going to wear it again.  Get real, brides!

Here I am kissing the hubby and a picture of my father walking me down the isle in my $400 dress from David’s Bridal.  The dress was perfect for me and it made me look like a princess.

(Photos by Alexis Stein Photography)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

